My Patronus

June 4, 2008 at 4:01 pm (Dear Diary)

I took several quizzes to learn what my patronus might be, but in the long run none of them turned out to be what actually showed up when I cast the spell!!!

I did pretty well the last time, and my patronus was quite clear.  My patronus is actually a monkey!  Let me tell you a little bit about monkey personalities, at least as they relate to the Chinese Zodiac:  (note that some of this will be a little repetitive, as I took it from a few different sites)

Monkeys are determined and ambitious individuals and as a result, they’re often successful. Although they’re considered warm-hearted and very likeable, their preference in life is to be alone. Monkeys are loyal to both their employers and their partners.

Monkey possesses such character traits as curiosity, mischievousness, and cleverness. Forever playful, Monkeys are the masters of practical jokes. Even though their intentions are always good, this desire to be a prankster has a tendency to create ill will and hurt feelings.

Although they are inherently intellectual and creative, Monkeys at times have trouble exhibiting these qualities. When that happens, they appear to others to be confused. But nothing could be further from the truth as Monkeys thrive on being challenged. Monkeys prefer urban life to rural, and their favorite pastime is people-watching.

Persuasive and passionate, this Monkey is a warm person. He is successful due to his innate determination and ambitious nature. He works hard to climb the ladder of success and prefers to work alone. They are loyal employees, always prepared and tactful with answers and upper management. In love these Monkeys are just as loyal as well as loving and affectionate.

I find this particularly interesting because I was born right on the cusp between the years of Sheep and Monkey.  Although I was *TECHNICALLY* born in the year of the sheep, I possess many more of the Monkey’s qualities and was told by a lovely old Chinese woman once that I was born early (and I was! Almost two weeks – which would have put me even closer to the Monkey) and should claim Monkey as my own.  So I did.  And now the monkey is my patronus too!  Neat!!!

And as long as I’m on the subject of Eastern zodiac things, it’s awfully amusing that Monkeys and Tigers are supposed to be mortal enemies; Malcolm MacCoinneach, my Slytherin boyfriend, is a Tiger.  We can be at each others’ throats on occasion, but realistically our personalities complement each other’s just as much as they clash.  Funny.  In addition, the Tiger, Horse, and Dog are all in the same trine of zodiac animals – guess what?  My wizardlings are of the years Horse and Dog, respectively.  I’m ALL ALONE!!!  They’re all supposed to get along great while I fight with all of them.  Geez…

1 Comment

  1. NOYB said,

    How did you cast a Patronus?

Leave a Reply

